Skip to main content

Replies sorted oldest to newest

either engine can be built to do just about whatever you want.type 4 has head drawbacks that type one has overcome in a big way.perhaps someday type 4  too will have a good platform to work with.

as for  fpcopo and his airport dude engine...(pat downs) Im sure he will be happy with it for a long time. a very long time, just change the oil&filter frequently the first month 7 you should be good to go.those are good #'s for that small of an engine,buit to last in a DD. and with the quality of the cb parts + they also stand behind thier stuff...hard to go wrong.

I'm kinda goofy and wanted to build a bigger engine like a 2276 or bigger but Pat said the Speedsters don't cool as well as a VW so we squashed that.  He wouldn't even do a 2180 as he thought the 2110 would do as well and cool much better with the 90.5 cylinders.  I had to listen to him because I have no experience in these cars. Is anyone having cooling problems with the bigger engines?

Originally Posted by Fpcopo VS:

I'm kinda goofy and wanted to build a bigger engine like a 2276 or bigger but Pat said the Speedsters don't cool as well as a VW so we squashed that.  He wouldn't even do a 2180 as he thought the 2110 would do as well and cool much better with the 90.5 cylinders.  I had to listen to him because I have no experience in these cars. Is anyone having cooling problems with the bigger engines?

Bigger engines will survive in these cars, but the combo has to be somewhat "street-friendly" and there has to be enough air intake into the engine compartment. Also, how much you are in tune with what's going on behind you (this usually comes with experience as you learn to maintain your beast, and you learn when you can push it and when to take it easy or even lay back a little bit) can be a big factor in how long any hot-rodded VW engine lasts. Mr. Downs is being conservative, but that's a good thing, especially with a new air-cooled owner. Al